The skills test is the only part of the CDL process that a 3rd party tester can be a part of. In other words the 3rd party tester cannot train and then test the same applicant.
The skills test is outlined in the final three sections of the Oregon CDL manual. All of the information in the skills test can be found in the manual or using other on-line resources. The successful applicant must be trained using resources providing information consistent with the Oregon CDL manual.
The successful applicant will not only study the Oregon CDL manual thoroughly in preparation for their test but also get many hours of practice with the style of equipment they will test with. Please take this test seriously.
Transport Wisdom Pricing Info
Please call for our current test fees in your location. Your fee will cover the entire 2.5 to 3 hour test (vehicle inspection, basic control skills (backing) and drive test). The fee is payable in advance or at the time of service using your credit card , cash or company check . Companies and agencies may set up an account (Net 30) in advance of your scheduled test, and we do accept company/agency checks.
There are no hidden fees or surprises when testing with Transport Wisdom. Prepaid test fees are refundable up to 72 hours before the test, however a $60 scheduling fee will be charged for test cancellations within the 72 hours leading up to the scheduled test.
The DMV charges you separately for upgrading your license after you finish your Skills Test with a 3rd Party Tester. Please refer to the DMV CDL website for their fees schedule. https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/Pages/Fees/CDL.aspx
Your vehicle must be fit for service (All vehicles must meet DOT standards and have current registration and insurance documents). Please inspect your equipment thoroughly before your scheduled test. There are no refunds for vehicle failures.
We appreciate prompt payment but do reserve the right charge a late payment fee (amount stipulated when setting up an account), or a $25 returned check fee as allowed by Oregon law.
When using a 3rd party tester the applicant must meet the following criteria at the time of the skills test:
- The applicant must have a current Oregon driver’s license (class C or CDL if upgrading). The applicant’s license must not be suspended, hole-punched or otherwise defaced and in their possession for 3rd Party testing.
- The applicant must have a current Commercial Learners Permit (CLP) in their possession for a minimum of 14 days before testing.
- The applicant must have FMCSA ELDT (Entry Level Driver Training) if their CLP has an issue date on or after 2/7/2022. ELDT in some instances can be waived if the applicant has had documentable CDL experience. The applicant should call the DMV to get their ELDT status “grandfathered”. ELDT is necessary also to upgrade from one CDL class to a higher class, adding Passenger and/or Haz Mat for the first time. ELDT is not necessary to remove a restriction on the same class of CDL, however a CLP is always necessary in order to test with any 3rd party CDL testing company regardless of their CDL status.
- Refer to the DMV Website for rules using Third Party testing: http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/driverid/3rdpartytest.aspx